MATTHEW 6:25

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?”

Every time I read this verse and the latter after it, I have sometimes thought, well that is impossible! How could I never not worry about anything ever again? As I am doing a chronological study of the Gospels in my times with God, it has opened up chasm’s of revelation where I am coming out of them simply put, trusting Him more.

I know so many people who have relationships with God or say they are Christians, but their lives are filled with anxiety. It is not God’s nature to worry, in fact it’s the exact opposite, which means that when we frantically pray and ask of Him something in worry, we are missing an opportunity to receive the ever-present gift of peace from God. (Galatians 5:22-23 – But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith….) The Spirit is the bridge through Jesus Christ that we have relationship with God and when we try to avail in circumstances without the fruits and think we can carry the burden alone, we will always dry up and lose perspective.

When I think of longsuffering, it is not particularly a fruit that sounds sweet. It sounds like biting into a really sour or tart grapefruit. I am finding it is a fruit of the Spirit for many reasons and all of them lead to becoming more like Jesus Christ.

What I am discovering is, is to be like Jesus we must be tested and we must be purified to come out like Him. Without this sanctification process we would remain right where we started–death.

Back in Kona last year God spoke to me that if I went home for a season, that it would be better than I ever could have imagined. In being home since October, it has been altogether the toughest season I have faced yet. From being jobless, to getting braces, to trying to pick up friendships again, feeling aimless, to feeling alone and depressed, it’s been difficult. But God. Those are some of my favorite words in the Bible: “My flesh and my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Ps. 73:26). It is this truth that set me free here at home. The realization that sitting idle feeling defeated like Jonah in the hot sun complaining doesn’t help at all. Even when God provides shade, like Jonah we can complain, even after what He has done in our lives and shown us time and time again He is faithful!!

Since being home, many of the things I am hoping to change have yet to, but instead of falling back, I have changed. I have to go after God and fall in love with Him outside of my experience. Experience can lead us to formula and God does whatever He wants, when He wants. If we as believers in a real way fall in love with God, nothing can tear us down. Things like clinging to words God spoke to me in the past are a way I remind myself of who I am and where I am headed. God cannot break any promise He ever made.

Be prepared for God to answer your prayers in roundabout ways than you expect. God enjoys surprising us and it is restful to know He is for us and loves us endlessly.

So, if you are reading this and are like me wondering, “God what am I doing and where I am going!?” You are not alone. No one can tell you how to fall in love with God, but it is up to you to get on your face alone and ask for Him to revive your heart. When the posture of being on your knees in prayer mirrors your life, everything changes and we begin to walk in heavenly perspective. Not only that, but trifling circumstances develop our character and intimacy with God. Even in the midst of it all, we must bless the name of our Great Father and love Him unto loving others wherever we are. This wisdom will change the way we live and instead of seeing obstacles, we will see opportunities. God must have been worth it to you to give up everything in the past and get this far, so don’t lose heart now. He is the same loving and perfect Father you fell in love with, but there’s just no glory in a lot of things we must do on this earth that seem mundane. But let God be Lord of the mundane things in your life and transform them.

I must daily fall more in love with Jesus and be love. †

Leave a Reply

