The title alone sums this up. If you have been walking with God for many or just a few years, this is easily something that can be taking place in our lives even unknowingly, but only leads us into our hearts becoming hard and doing the good things meant for God, for ourselves.

Colossians 3:23-24, Paul wrote, “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward.”

So, simple right? Man, I wish that I did this every time, but I know that many times I have to remind myself of why I am doing what I am, even if it’s a good thing. The reason why I am focusing on this, is because it’s doing these “good things” that most often I have become so disgustingly introspective and it becomes all about me and my performance.

Recently I was leading a worship time with some friends when this began to happen. I did all the right things and had prayed before for God to have His way as I played and for everyone to encounter Him. What my downfall was, was that pretty much right away I became introspective and started looking at what other people should have been doing and as this happened, I felt like I missed His presence and my voice literally vanished. Where was it? I know theologically based on scripture and experience that God will not leave us (Hebrews 13:5, John 14:18), but we easily forget that God absolutely and entirely HATES sin. So much so that even His own beloved Son was separated from God before His death as He became sin on the cross for us.

There are many instances in the bible where God mentions that He lifts up who is bowed down and humbles those who lift themselves up. I for one definitely have and do still struggle with pride. I hate that I hate that I do. Seeing this from His perspective, God showed me that while I may do everything right in my eyes to create a setting or environment where He is welcome, if my heart is not in the right place, all will be useless and I will fail to partner with The Holy Spirit.

So today, ask God about the condition of your heart. Has it become callous or hard? In my times with God, I am seeking to make repentance a daily thing to realize my own sin and to immediately be rid of it so it doesn’t corrupt more of my heart. Be real with Him and let Him undergo the much needed heart surgery that you have been putting off. Let Him in and give Him what you have by realizing it is nothing in comparison to what you will gain.

Leave a Reply

